Wedding Fair 

As part of my job I get to coordinate weddings which I really enjoy! So when the time of year comes for our Wedding Fair I can’t help but get excited about the new couples I will meet and the chance I will get to discuss their big day! Every couple is different and has their own unique ideas which I find fascinating. 

Not only do I enjoy that but I also love seeing what our suppliers offer, from bridal dresses, jewellery and cakes to venue styling, honeymoons and much more. I am not even engaged and I still find it interesting…is that bad? I use the excuse “it’s part of my job”. I was up at the crack of dawn (6am on a Sunday!) and at the venue by quarter to 7 dressing the chairs and prepping the final bits. Exhibitors begun arriving from 8am to set their stands in time for 11am when the Fair began. 2 top tips if you are planning your own fair and inviting exhibitors: 

1 – They like plenty of time to set up so the earlier the access the better 

2 – They also love a good cup of tea or coffee so make sure to provide a drinks voucher so they can redeem this

Once all stands were set, exhibitors were happy and the models had run through their fashion show, our doors opened to the public. Although I plan events for a living, this moment never ceases to make me nervous. I worry that no one will turn up and I would be left with some very angry suppliers. When in fact I shouldn’t worry at all. Our social media campaign and marketing techniques proved successful as the number of bridal parties through the door was superb. 

Our registration desk was the first to be seen. Brides and Grooms were asked to register their details and also enter our competition to win a bouquet of flowers, champagne truffles and a bottle of rose. Once signed in, they were given our brochure, a pot of sweets and some tasty macaroons. Not only that, but they were then greeted by a host with either an orange juice or a prosecco along with canapés to die for. They were then left to wander around the fair to get ideas and chat to our exhibitors about their wedding plans. A very popular feature this year was Brides Visited who brought along rails and rails of designer sale wedding dresses. You can imagine every woman was in her element!! Along with Brides Visited some other exhibitors we were joined by included Helen Kiddell photography, Harpers, Gill Pike Florist, Thomas Cook, Zija, Oh-So-Delicious, Party Time Entertainments and a wedding caricaturist. A show table was also set so that guests could imagine how it may look on their big day. This is always a great idea at any Wedding Fair should you be selling yourself as a venue. The final showstopper that went down remarkably well was our fashion show. Two were scheduled for the day – one at 12pm and another at 1.45pm. The models were great, they wore some stunning pieces including bridalwear, bridesmaid and mother of the bride dresses which of course received lots of interest from our guests. The show itself along with the music helped build the atmosphere and created that extra special experience for our guests. Once the clock hit 3pm, our remaining guests made their way out, complimenting the fair and the venue. Fingers crossed I will be hearing from them all soon! 

Exhibitors then too started to pack down and clear their stand saying what a lovely day they had had and how they would love to be invited back for the next wedding fair – which of course they will be! 

I had a lovely time meeting new couples, their family and friends and enjoyed showing off our venue and what we have to offer. My feet now hurt and I have been in bed since 5pm but it has been a super day and very much worth it. 

S x 

Leave a Reply

